A Day in the Life, As Told by GIFs

I haven’t even finished my coffee yet, I open my e-appointment book and see that there’s 28 patients on the schedule, and four folks with symptoms for STIs all scheduled in the same hour. 

Image

 

So I settle into my schedule and start seeing patients.  First thing, I have a young woman tell me that she’s taking her sister’s birth control pills even though she has migraines with aura, which puts her at an increased risk for stroke. Image

 

….and then I have my 4th patient of the day ask me how old I am

Image

 

Ok great, I’m kind of running on time, and I’ve seen 11 patients before lunch

Image

 

I’m finally thinking my patients might think I know what I’m doing, and then I spill a pap smear all over my side table

Image

 

But then I totally recover in my next appointment and handle a male exam like a champ

Image

 

Then all four symptom-check exams show up at the same time and I can’t get the damn microscope to focus. I’m starting to get backed up and the medical assistants are starting to ask when I think I’ll be able to free up an exam room

Image

 

 

And then my awesome Medical Assistants tell my patient that wants to be seen for a well-woman exam, a birth control start, and a symptom check that she has to pick her most important issue because we don’t have time to do all three today and she’ll have to come back

Image

 

As I’m finishing up my last chart of the day realizing that I completely forgot to call in a medication to the pharmacy, and I can’t remember which pharmacy my patient told me to send it to

Image

 

But no matter how tired I am at the end of the day, or how emotionally drained, I still walk away every day feeling like

Image

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day in the Life, As Told by GIFs

  1. Alison says:

    Wow! That is a lot to deal with! Have we mentioned recently that you are a rockstar?

Leave a Reply

